The browser you are using is out of date and may not support all of the features of this website. Please update your browser to a modern browser that supports HTML5.

The Mission Statement of the Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to constitute a body representative of the faculty, to advise the University on matters relative to the life of the University, and to facilitate the work of the faculty.

FACULTY SENATE MEMBERS

  • Dr. Samuel Peavy
    President of Faculty Senate
    samuel.peavy@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    Geology and Physics
    Roney Building, room 206
    (229) 931-2330
  • Dr. Robert Bennett
    robert.bennett@gsw.edu
    Instructor
    School of Business Administration
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 219
    (229) 931-2725
  • Dr. Chadwick Gugg
    chadwick.gugg@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    School of Computing and Mathematics
    Crawford Wheatley Hall, room 205
    (229) 931-2358
  • Ms. Rebecca Mathews Gee
    rebecca.gee@gsw.edu
    Assistant Professor
    School of Nursing
    Rosalynn Carter Health and Human Services Complex, room 141
    (229) 931-2283
  • Dr. Mark Laughlin
    mark.laughlin@gsw.edu
    Assistant Professor
    Department of Music
    Jackson Hall, room 122
    (229) 931-2250
  • Dr. Jamie MacLennan
    jamie.maclennan@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    Psychology and Sociology
    Carter 2, room 216
    (229) 931-2314
  • Dr. Yangil Park
    yangil.park@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    School of Business Administration
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 204-C
    (229) 931-6927
  • Dr. Brian Parkinson
    brian.parkinson@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    History and Political Science
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 312
    (229) 931-2084
  • Ms. Laurel Robinson
    laurel.robinson@gsw.edu
    Professor
    Fine Arts
    Fine Arts Building, room 104
    (229) 931-2210
    Alternate Phone: 229-931-2204
  • Dr. Rebecca Short
    rebecca.short@gsw.edu
    Assistant Professor
    School of Education
    School of Education, room 125
    (229) 931-2165
  • Dr. Queen Brown
    queen.brown@gsw.edu
    Professor
    School of Education
    Education Center, room 214
    (229) 931-2160
  • Dr. Tom Weiland
    thomas.weiland@gsw.edu
    Professor
    Geology and Physics
    Roney Building, room 212
    (229) 931-2327
  • Dr. Brian Adler
    brian.adler@gsw.edu
    Vice President of Academic Affairs
    Academic Affairs
    Wheatley Administration Building
    (229) 928-1361
  • Dr. Charles Patterson
    charles.patterson@gsw.edu
    Interim President
    President's Office
    Wheatley Administration Building, room 212
    (229) 928-1360

Agendas: 

December 5, 2014
        Faculty Handbook Changes
        Bachelor of General Studies Curriculum Sheet
        General Studies Proposal
        Changes to English Program
        Changes to International 1000 and 2000
        Faculty Development Grant Form
        RHSC Deficiency Revision Proposal
        Criminal Justice Proposal
        Criminal Justice Courses
        Graduate Nursing Proposal
        Graduate Education Proposal

December 6, 2013

Minutes:

 

Reports:

USG Faculty Council meeting summary for Fall, 2009
A summary of Faculty Senate activities for Fall, 2009
Faculty Senate meeting with Erroll Davis - January 28, 2010

Notes on the 10 month pay schedule

A note about the 10 month pay schedule: A frequently asked question is whether faculty members on 10 month contracts can choose to receive their paychecks spread out over 12 months. This simply cannot be done due to state law and IRS regulations. Georgia College and State University has a nice explanation of why 10 month contracts cannot be paid out over 12 months.

applyrainclassScheduleemaildonateGeorgiaViewCanes ConnectBeaconyoutubeinstagramtwitterfacebook

© Georgia Southwestern State University, 800 Georgia Southwestern State University Drive, Americus, Georgia 31709 | (877) 871-4594

Email Access

To login into email, please select if you are a student or Faculty/Staff

Student Email    Faculty/Staff Email

×

Apply to GSW

Thank you for your interest in Georgia Southwestern. What would you like to apply for?

Undergraduate Admissions    Graduate Admissions    Check Admission Status

×

Site Login

You can use this portal to login to the GSW website.  This will allow you to make instant edits to your pages. If you do not have an account and are a GSW Faculty/Staff member please click here.

Please be sure to logout when you are done!

×