The browser you are using is out of date and may not support all of the features of this website. Please update your browser to a modern browser that supports HTML5.

The Mission Statement of the Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to constitute a body representative of the faculty, to advise the University on matters relative to the life of the University, and to facilitate the work of the faculty.

FACULTY SENATE MEMBERS

  • Dr. Chadwick Gugg
    President of Faculty Senate
    chadwick.gugg@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    School of Computing and Mathematics
    Crawford Wheatley Hall, room 205
    (229) 931-2358
  • Dr. Robert Bennett
    robert.bennett@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    School of Business Administration
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 219
    (229) 931-2725
  • Dr. Queen Brown
    queen.brown@gsw.edu
    Professor
    School of Education
    Education Center, room 214
    (229) 931-2160
  • Dr. Paula Bryant
    paula.bryant@gsw.edu
    Professor
    School of Nursing
    Rosalynn Carter Health and Human Services Complex, building 1, room 142
    (229) 931-2282
  • Dr. Elizabeth Gurnack
    elizabeth.gurnack@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    Chemistry
    Roney Building, room 318
    (229) 931-2328
  • Dr. Mark Laughlin
    mark.laughlin@gsw.edu
    Assistant Professor
    Department of Music
    Jackson Hall, room 122
    (229) 931-2250
  • Dr. Jamie MacLennan
    jamie.maclennan@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    Psychology and Sociology
    Carter 2, room 216
    (229) 931-2314
  • Dr. Yangil Park
    yangil.park@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    School of Business Administration
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 204-C
    (229) 931-6927
  • Dr. Brian Parkinson
    brian.parkinson@gsw.edu
    Associate Professor
    History and Political Science
    Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 312
    (229) 931-2084
  • Dr. Laurel Robinson
    laurel.robinson@gsw.edu
    Professor
    Fine Arts
    Fine Arts Building, room 104
    (229) 931-2210
    Alternate Phone: 229-931-2204
  • Dr. Rebecca Short
    rebecca.short@gsw.edu
    Assistant Professor
    School of Education
    School of Education, room 124
    (229) 931-2165
  • Dr. Tom Weiland
    thomas.weiland@gsw.edu
    Professor
    Geology and Physics
    Roney Building, room 212
    (229) 931-2327
  • Mr. John Wilson
    john.wilson@gsw.edu
    Reference Librarian / Government Documents Supervisor
    Library
    James Earl Carter Library
    (229) 931-2850

A note about the 10 month pay schedule: A frequently asked question is whether faculty members on 10 month contracts can choose to receive their paychecks spread out over 12 months. This simply cannot be done due to state law and IRS regulations. Georgia College and State University has a nice explanation of why 10 month contracts cannot be paid out over 12 months.

applyrainclassScheduleemaildonateGeorgiaViewCanes ConnectBeaconyoutubeinstagram logotwitterfacebook

© Georgia Southwestern State University, 800 Georgia Southwestern State University Drive, Americus, Georgia 31709 | (877) 871-4594

Email Access

To login into email, please select if you are a student or Faculty/Staff

Student Email    Faculty/Staff Email

×

Apply to GSW

Thank you for your interest in Georgia Southwestern. What would you like to apply for?

Undergraduate Admissions    Graduate Admissions    Check Admission Status

×

Site Login

You can use this portal to login to the GSW website.  This will allow you to make instant edits to your pages. If you do not have an account and are a GSW Faculty/Staff member please click here.

Please be sure to logout when you are done!

×