Faculty Senate

The Mission Statement of the Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate shall be to constitute a body representative of the faculty, to advise the University on matters relative to the life of the University, and to facilitate the work of the faculty.

FACULTY SENATE MEMBERS

Dr. Jeffrey Waldrop
President of Faculty Senate

jeffrey.waldrop@gsw.edu
Professor
English and Modern Language
English Building, room 220
(229) 931-2182

Simon Baev
simon.baev@gsw.edu
Assistant Professor
School of Computing and Mathematics
Crawford Wheatley Hall, room 203
(229) 931-2819

Eugenia P. Bryan
ebryan@gsw.edu
Associate Professor
English and Modern Language
English Building, room 218
(229) 931-6984 

Ms. Gretchen Smith
gretchen.smith@gsw.edu
Collection Development Librarian
James Earl Carter Library
James Earl Carter Library
(229) 931-2789

Dr. Brian Heshizer
brian.heshizer@gsw.edu
Associate Professor
School of Business Administration
Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 209
(229) 931-2087 

Joy S. Humphrey
joy.humphrey@gsw.edu
Lecturer
School of Nursing
Rosalynn Carter Health and Human Services Complex, room 135 

 

DrSvilen Kostov
svilen.kostov@gsw.edu
Assistant Professor
Geology and Physics
Science and Math Buildingroom 114
(229931-2321

Dr. Glenn M. Robins
glenn.robins@gsw.edu
Professor
History and Political Science
Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 314
(229) 931-2108

Brian G. Smith
brian.smith@gsw.edu
Associate Professor
History and Political Science
Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 315
(229) 931-2080

Dr. Robert Bennett
robert.bennett@gsw.edu
Instructor
School of Business Administration
Business, History, and Political Science Building, room 219
(229) 931-2725

Dr. Elizabeth Uhl
elizabeth.uhl@gsw.edu
Assistant Professor
Psychology and Sociology
Psychology and Sociology Building
(229) 931-2313

Dr. Chu-Chu Wu
chu.wu@gsw.edu
Associate Professor
School of Education
Education Center, room 216
(229) 931-2744

Keaton E. Wynn
keaton.wynn@gsw.edu
Assistant Professor
Fine Arts
Fine Arts Building, room 106
(229) 931-2211 

Dr. Sheryl F. Venable
sheryl.venable@gsw.edu
Associate Professor
School of Education
Education Center
(229) 931-2169

 

 

Agendas: 

December 6, 2013

Minutes: 

August 10, 2009
September 14, 2009
October 19, 2009
November 23, 2009
January 22, 2010
February 22, 2010
March 22, 2010 
April 26, 2010
October 16, 2013
November 13, 2013
December 4, 2013

Reports: 

USG Faculty Council meeting summary for Fall, 2009
A summary of Faculty Senate activities for Fall, 2009
Faculty Senate meeting with Erroll Davis - January 28, 2010

Notes on the 10 month pay schedule 

A note about the 10 month pay schedule: A frequently asked question is whether faculty members on 10 month contracts can choose to receive their paychecks spread out over 12 months. This simply cannot be done due to state law and IRS regulations. Georgia College and State University has a nice explanation of why 10 month contracts cannot be paid out over 12 months.