University System of Georgia


The University System of Georgia includes all state-operated institutions of higher education in Georgia-4 research universities, 2 regional universities, 13 state universities, 14 state colleges, and 2 associate degree colleges. These 35 public institutions are located throughout the state.

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as a part of a reorganization of Georgia’s state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serve seven years. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 18 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 13 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The Board oversees the 35 colleges and universities that comprise the University System of Georgia, Skidaway Institute of Oceanography and The Georgia Public Library System.

The Chair, Vice Chair, and other officers of the Board of Regents are elected by the members of the Board. The Chancellor, who is not a Board member, is the chief executive officer of the Board and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components: Instruction; Public Service/ Continuing Education; Research.

INSTRUCTION consists of programs of study leading toward degrees, ranging from the associate (two-year) level to the doctoral level, and certificates.

Standards for admission of students to instructional programs at each institution are determined, pursuant to policies of the Board of Regents, by the institution. The Board establishes minimum standards and leaves to each institution the prerogative to establish higher standards. Applications for admission should be addressed to the institutions.

PUBLIC SERVICE/CONTINUING EDUCATION consists of non-degree activities, primarily, and special types of college degree-credit courses. The non-degree activities include short courses, seminars, conferences, and consultative and advisory services in many areas of interest. Typical college degree-credit courses are those offered through extension center programs and teacher education consortiums.

RESEARCH encompasses scholarly investigations conducted for discovery and application of knowledge. Most of the research is conducted through the research universities; however, some of it is conducted through several of the regional and state universities. The research investigations cover matters related to the educational objectives of the institutions and to general social needs.

The policies of the Board of Regents provide a high degree of autonomy for each institution. The executive head of each institution is the President, whose selection is recommended by the Chancellor and approved by the Board.