Financial Information


In accordance with regulations of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia, all matriculation charges, board, room rent, or other charges are subject to change at the end of any semester.


Georgia Southwestern State University, as a unit of the University System of Georgia, receives the major portion of its operating funds from the State of Georgia through appropriations.

The academic year is divided into two semesters of approximately fifteen weeks and a summer term.

Certain regulations must be observed to conform with the policies of the Board of Regents. Fees and charges are due and payable at the beginning of each term at the time of registration. Registration is not complete until all fees have been paid. Students should not begin the registration process without having sufficient funds to pay all fees.

A student who is delinquent in his or her financial obligations to the University, or to any facet of the University community, will not be allowed to register for the next term, to transfer credits to another school, to receive academic transcripts, or to graduate from the University. In some instances the financially delinquent student may be enjoined by the appropriate University official from attending classes for which enrolled and/or from taking final examinations.

A student with outstanding financial obligations to the University, or any facet of the University community, must submit payment in cash for these obligations prior to the release of any refund and/or payroll check(s). Such penalties will accrue in addition to the penalties described above.

Fulfillment of financial obligations restores the student to one's prior status as a member of the University community, except for academic losses which accrue as a normal result of the prior financial irresponsibility.

If any check is not paid on presentation to the bank on which it is drawn, a service charge of $15 or 5 percent of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater, will be charged. When two checks have been returned by any student's bank without payment, check cashing privileges will be suspended.

The health service fee provides for limited medical care in the University Health Center and is charged all students taking three or more semester hours of on-campus classes.

The student activity fee is assessed to all students taking three or more semester hours of on campus classes. It provides financial support for a broad program of literary, dramatic, musical, and social activities and defrays most of the expenses of publishing the newspaper and other University publications.

The athletic fee is charged all students taking three or more semester hours of on campus classes. It contributes to the financial support of inter-collegiate athletic activities.

The technology fee is assessed to all students.

The postal fee provides funding of a U.S. Post Office on campus for student convenience .and is charged to all students taking three or more semester hours of on-campus classes.

A student residing on-campus and enrolled for one or more semester hours at any location is required to pay the health service fee, student activity fee, athletic fee and postal fee.


Fall - August 3, 2007
Spring - December 15, 2007

A late payment fee of $50.00 will be assessed to students not paid in full by the deadline.


All matriculation charges, board, room rates, and other charges are subject to change. The following fees are effective Fall Semester 2007.

Graduate Students with 12 or more hours

Matriculation Non Resident$6,452.00
Health Service Fee$66.00
Activity Fee$65.00
Athletic Fee$140.00
Postal Fee$8.00
Computer Technology Fee$40.00
Student Success Center Fee$10.00

Graduate Students with Fewer than 12 hours

Students enrolled in less than twelve (12) semester hours will pay $127 per graduate semester hour (Georgia residents) or $508 per graduate semester hour (out-of-state) plus additional fees as specified below. NOTE: All Students, regardless of number of hours, are required to pay the $40 Technology Fee.

The following fees are effective for Fall Semester 2007:

  • Graduate students enrolled for 7 or more hours in any combination of on-campus or off- campus classes will pay the full fees ($140 Athletic, $65 Student Activity, $66 Health Services, $8 Postal, $40 Technology, $10 Student Success). For example: A student with 3 hours of on-campus classes (Campus A) and 6 hours of online classes (Campus Z) would pay full fees, and a student with 6 hours of on-campus classes (A) and 6 hours of online classes (Z) would pay full fees.
  • Graduate students enrolled for 4 - 6 hours, which includes at least 1 hour of on-campus classes (A) will pay specific fees at a rate of 50% ($70 Athletic, $32.50 Student Activity, $33 Health Services, $5 Student Success) and certain fees at 100% rate ($8 Postal, $40 Technology). For example: A student with 3 hours of on-campus classes (A) and 3 hours of off-campus classes (Campus O or Z) would pay the fees at the 50% rate and a student with 6 hours of on-campus classes (A) would pay the fees at the 50% rate.
  • Graduate students enrolled for a total of 1-3 hours of on-campus classes (A) only will pay the $8 Postal and $40 Technology fee.
  • Graduate students whose total course load does not contain a course taught on-campus (A) will pay only the $40 Technology fee.

A student registered for less than three semester hours has the option to pay the health service fee, or a co-pay for each visit.

Food Service: (Three meal plans available)

21 Meals per week (Monday thru Sunday)$1,162.00
15 Meals per week (Monday thru Sunday)$1,128.00
10 Meals per week (Any 10 meals Monday thru Sunday)$1,011.00

All students housed on campus with less than 60 credit hours will purchase one of the above meal plans. No refund will be made on any meal plan purchases unless the student withdraws from the University. Off-campus students may purchase a meal ticket if desired.

Residence Hall Rates - Per Semester

Standard:Double Occupancy$1,350.00
 Single Occupancy$1,850.00
Oaks:Double Occupancy$1,600.00
 Single Occupancy$2,050.00
Pines:4 Bedroom Suites$2,185.00
 2 Bedroom Suites$2,300.00

Parking Fees: (All students who plan to operate a vehicle on campus)

Annual: Fall-Summer$18.00
($11 Spring-Summer, $7 Summer only) 

Other Fees:

Applied Music Fee - 1 hour per week instruction$120.00
Lab Fees may be assigned to specific courses

Matriculation Fee and Deposit

Each application for admission, graduate and undergraduate, must be accompanied by a $20 non-refundable application fee. Undergraduate students are required to pay an additional $25 deposit after they have been notified of their acceptance. This deposit may be refunded if an applicant cancels his/her application prior to twenty days before registration. The deposit will be credited toward matriculation fees at the time the student enrolls.

A seventy-five dollar ($75) residence hall deposit, $250 for apartments, must be submitted with the student housing contract. The deposit, less any charges which may accrue due to damage, improper check-out, etc., will be refunded after the termination of the final housing contract.


Students who formally withdraw from the University prior to passing the 60% point in time during the term are eligible for a partial refund of fees. Refunds are made only when a student completely withdraws from the University, and no refunds are made when a student of his or her own volition reduces the course load after the add/drop period. Students may receive a refund resulting from a reduction of their course load during the add/drop period. No refunds for withdrawals will be made after passing the 60% point in time during the semester. It is the student's responsibility to withdraw officially in accordance with University regulations.

Forms for withdrawal from the University are available from Gail Barksdale, First Year Advocate, located in Academics Skills, room 126 or at A refund of tuition and fees, in accordance with federal, state, and institutional policies, will be issued within 30 days of receipt of completed withdrawal forms by the Business Office.

Students who formally withdraw from the institution on or before the first day of class are entitled to a refund of 100% of the tuition and fees paid for that period of enrollment. (First day of class is defined as "classes begin" date published in the GSW Bulletin.)

Students who formally withdraw from the institution after the first day of class but before the 60% point in time during the term are subject to guidelines established by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. This policy states:

The refund amount for students withdrawing from the institution shall be based on a pro rata percentage determined by dividing the number of calendar days in the semester that the student completed by the total calendar days in the semester. The total calendar days in a semester includes weekends, but excludes scheduled breaks of five or more days and days that a student was on an approved leave of absence. The unearned portion shall be refunded up to the point in time that the amount equals 60%.
Students that withdraw from the institution when the calculated percentage of completion is greater than 60% are not entitled to a refund of any portion of institutional charges.
A refund of all matriculation fees and other mandatory fees shall be made in the event of the death of a student at any time during the academic session. (BR Minutes, 1979-80, p.61; 1986-87 pp. 24-25; 1995, p.246)

The University is required to determine how much student financial aid was earned by students who withdraw during the term. If students have 'unearned aid' because they were disbursed more than they earned, it may be necessary for the unearned portion to be returned to the appropriate student financial aid fund. If the students have 'earned aid' that they have not received, they may be eligible to receive those funds.


Textbooks and school supplies, as well as other student needs, are available in the Campus Bookstore. The cost of books and supplies will vary with the courses selected by the individual student. A fair estimate of this cost is from $300 - $500 per semester.

Refunds for textbooks will not be given without the following:

  1. Cash register receipt dated within current term.
  2. Valid student I.D.


Fees for attending class on an audit or non-credit basis are calculated on the same schedule as regular academic fees.



Failure to submit fee payment on specified date 
Undergraduate (non-refundable)$50.00
Graduate (non-refundable)$50.00


For each check$15.00
OR 5 percent of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater.


Initial Request (One Copy)No Charge
Each Official Request Thereafter$5.00


Associate Degree$30.00
Bachelor's Degree$30.00
Master's Degree$50.00
Specialist Degree$50.00


eCore Testing Fee - per exam$15.00
Independent Study Testing Fee$30.00
GMAT Testing Fee$50.00


A student is responsible for registering under the proper residency classification. A student classified as a non-resident who believes that he/she is entitled to be reclassified as a legal resident may petition the Registrar for a change of status. The petition must be filed no later than ten (10) days before the term begins in order for the student to be considered for reclassification for that term. If the petition is granted, reclassification will not be retroactive to prior terms. The necessary forms for this purpose are available in the Registrar's Office and on RAIN.

To register as a legal resident of Georgia at an institution of the University System, a student must establish the following facts to the satisfaction of the Registrar:

    1. If a person is 18 years of age or older, he or she may register as an in-state student only upon showing that he or she has been a legal resident of Georgia for a period of at least 12 months immediately preceding the date of registration.
      1. A student whose parent, spouse, or court-appointed guardian is a legal resident of the State of Georgia may register as a resident providing the parent, spouse, or guardian can provide proof of legal residency in the State of Georgia for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of registration.
      2. A student who previously held residency status in the State of Georgia but moved from the state and then returned to the state in 12 or fewer months.
      3. Students who are transferred to Georgia by employer are not subject to the durational residency requirement.
    2. No emancipated minor or other person 18 years of age or older shall be deemed to have gained or acquired in-state status for tuition purposes while attending any educational institution in this state, in the absence of a clear demonstration that he or she in fact established legal residence in this state.
  1. If a parent or legal guardian of a student changes his or her legal residence to another state following a period of legal residence in Georgia, the student may retain his or her classification as an in-state student as long as he or she remains continuously enrolled in the University System of Georgia, regardless of the status of his or her parent or legal guardian.
  2. In the event that a legal resident of Georgia is appointed by a court as guardian of a nonresident minor, such minor will be permitted to register as a in-state student providing the guardian can provide proof that he or she has been a resident of Georgia for the period of 12 months immediately preceding the date of the court appointment.
  3. Aliens shall be classified as nonresident students, provided, however, that an alien who is living in this country under an immigration document permitting indefinite or permanent residence shall have the same privilege of qualifying for in-state tuition as a citizen of the United States.


An institution may waive out-of-state tuition and assess in-state tuition for:

  1. Academic Common Market. Students selected to participate in a program offered through the Academic Common Market.
  2. International and Superior Out-of-State Students. International students and superior out-of-state students selected by the institutional president or an authorized representative, provided that the number of such waivers in effect does not exceed 2% of the equivalent full-time students enrolled at the institution in the fall term immediately preceding the term for which the out-of-state tuition is to be waived.
  3. University System Employees and Dependents. Full-time employees of the University System, their spouses, and their dependent children.
  4. Medical/Dental Students and Interns. Medical and dental residents and medical and dental interns at the Medical College of Georgia (BR Minutes, 1986-87, p. 340).
  5. Full-Time School Employees. Full-time employees in the public schools of Georgia or of the Department of Technical and Adult Education, their spouses, and their dependent children. Teachers employed full-time on military bases in Georgia shall also qualify for this waiver (BR Minutes, 1988-89, p.43).
  6. Career Consular Officials. Career consular officers, their spouses, and their dependent children who are citizens of the foreign nation that their consular office represents and who are stationed and living in Georgia under orders of their respective governments.
  7. Military Personnel. Military personnel, their spouses, and their dependent children stationed in or assigned to Georgia and on active duty. The waiver can be retained by military personnel, their spouses, and their dependent children if the military sponsor is reassigned outside of Georgia, as long as the student(s) remain(s) continuously enrolled and the military sponsor remains on active military status (BR Minutes, May 2003).
  8. Research University Graduate Students. Graduate students attending the University of Georgia, the Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia State University, and the Medical College of Georgia, which shall be authorized to waive the out-of-state tuition differential for a limited number of graduate students each year, with the understanding that the number of students at each of these institutions to whom such waivers are granted shall not exceed the number assigned below at any point in time:
    University of Georgia - 80
    Georgia Institute of Technology - 60
    Georgia State University - 80
    Medical College of Georgia - 20
  9. Border County Residents. Residents of an out-of-state county bordering a Georgia county in which the reporting institution or a Board-approved external center of the University System is located.
  10. National Guard Members. Full-time members of the Georgia National Guard, their spouses, and their dependent children (BR Minutes, April, 1998, pp.16-17).
  11. Students enrolled in University System institutions as part of Competitive Economic Development Projects. Students who are certified by the Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Industry, Trade & Tourism as being part of a competitive economic development project.
  12. Students in Georgia-Based Corporations. Students who are employees of Georgia-based corporations or organizations that have contracted with the Board of Regents through University System institutions to provide out-of-state tuition differential waivers.
  13. Students in Pilot Programs. Students enrolled in special pilot programs approved by the Chancellor. The Chancellor shall evaluate institutional requests for such programs in light of good public policy and the best interest of students. If a pilot program is successful, the tuition program shall be presented to the Board for consideration.
  14. Students in ICAPP Advantage programs. Any student participating in an ICAPP Advantage program.
  15. Direct Exchange Program Students. Any international student who enrolls in a University System institution as a participant in a direct exchange program that provides reciprocal benefits to University System students.
  16. Families Moving to Georgia. A dependent student who, as of the first day of term of enrollment, can provide documentation supporting that his or her supporting parent or court-appointed guardian has accepted full-time, self-sustaining employment and established domicile in the State of Georgia for reasons other than gaining the benefit of favorable tuition rates may qualify immediately for an out-of-state tuition differential waiver which will expire 12 months from the date the waiver was granted. An affected student may petition for residency status according to established procedures at the institution.
  17. Recently Separated Military Service Personnel. Members of a uniformed military service of the United States who, within 12 months of separation from such service, enroll in an academic program and demonstrate intent to become a permanent resident of Georgia. This waiver may be granted for not more than one year.


Students who are not regularly admitted to a graduate degree program are not eligible for financial aid.

The University provides loan programs to assist students who have financial need. Scholarships, loans, and part-time work constitute the types of financial aid. It is preferable that financial aid applications for the next academic year be filed by April 1. Detailed information and appropriate forms may be secured by writing to the Financial Aid Office, Georgia Southwestern State University. All awards are contingent on funds being available.

Most types of financial aid are awarded on the basis of a student's academic progress and proven financial need. As used in relation to financial aid, the term financial need means the monetary difference between the total cost of attending the University and the computed amount of financial resources which the student and the family can contribute toward the total cost. The total cost of attending the University include tuition and all fees, room and board, books and supplies, personal expenses, and allowable transportation costs.

Financial need is computed by a standard need analysis system using confidential information submitted by the parents or the independent student. The need analysis system used by Georgia Southwestern State University is the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) administered by the Federal Government. The analysis of a family's financial resources includes consideration of current family income, assets, family size, and number in college. Federal aid programs, state aid programs and many college programs do not permit aid awards that exceed the computed financial need. Thus, the information on all sources of aid must be provided to the Financial Aid Director. The amount of a student's computed financial need is the total cost of attending Georgia Southwestern State University minus the computed family resources.

Procedures For Applying For Financial Aid

Students should complete financial aid applications as soon as possible after January 1. Application for financial aid at Georgia Southwestern State University includes the following steps:

  1. Make application for admission to the University. Applicants for financial aid need not be accepted for enrollment before an award is packaged but must be accepted in an eligible academic program before aid is disbursed. Transfer students from other colleges must have a transcript and an admissions application on file at the time of application for financial assistance.
  2. Complete the FAFSA either on-line ( or in paper form, list GSW Code 001573, and send the completed application to the address on the form, for processing. The paper application for financial aid is available from the Financial Aid Office, Georgia Southwestern State University.
  3. If the institution code number is entered on the FAFSA, the institution will receive the student's financial information electronically. Until this information is received by the institution electronically, the student's file cannot be processed.

Financial aid is not automatically renewed. Continuing students must reapply for financial aid each year, as soon after January 1 as possible. All application information received after April 1 will be processed, but awards will be made as funds permit.


Scholarships are monetary gifts which usually do not require repayment. They are awarded on the basis of academic performance and other specific criteria stipulated by the agency or person(s) funding the scholarship. The amount of the awards may vary according to the established need of the scholarship recipient. In order to remain eligible to receive most academic scholarships, a student recipient must be enrolled for at least 9 credit hours each term, earn a 3.0 cumulative grade point, and remain in good judicial standing.

HOPE Teacher Scholarship (Graduate)

To be eligible for a HOPE Teacher Scholarship, the student must:

  1. Be a Georgia resident.
  2. Be enrolled in a graduate program in a critical field.
  3. Commit to teach/serve in his or her critical field in a Georgia public school to repay scholarship.

Critical Fields include the following (subject to change):

  • Middle Grade Education (Grades 4-8) with primary concentration in one of the following:
  • Math
  • Science
  • Math and Science
  • Mathematic Education (Grades 7-12)
  • Education of Exceptional Children (Grades P-12)
    • Behavioral Disorder
    • Interrelated Special Education
  • Foreign Language Education (Grades P-12)
    • French
    • Spanish
  • Business Education (Grades 7-12)
  • Industrial Arts/Technology Education (Grades 7-12)
  • Trade and Industrial Education (Grades 7-12)
  • Agriculture Education (Grades 7-12)
  • Science Education (Grades 7-12)
    • Broad Field Science
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Earth/Space
    • Physics


Several types of part-time employment are available through Georgia Southwestern State University.

Graduate Assistantships

A limited number of graduate assistantships are available in some departments. Interested students should contact the Director of Graduate Studies or the appropriate school or office. For additional information, see the section on Graduate Studies.

Part-Time Employment

The Career Services Office maintains a list of jobs available in the community. Any student interested in part-time work should file an application.


Georgia Southwestern State University administers its financial aid program in compliance with all applicable Federal and State laws and regulations. Specifically, the financial aid policies are listed below:

  1. To receive any Federal financial aid, a student must maintain satisfactory progress toward a degree as determined by Federal standards. Among other requirements, Federal standards generally define "satisfactory progress toward graduation" as passing 67% of all academic work attempted during an academic year. For students who fail to meet these standards, their financial aid will be terminated. They will not be eligible to receive further aid until such time they have corrected the deficiency at their own expense.
  2. To receive Federal aid, the student must not owe a refund on previous Federal grants or be in default on a Federal student loan.
  3. Refunds are made in accordance with the schedule in the current University Bulletin. Any refund from a Federal source will be returned to that fund in the appropriate order.

More information on financial aid may be obtained from the Financial Aid Office, Room 207, Sanford Hall. Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Summer hours may vary. Please call 229-928-1378 to determine schedule for summer hours.


Georgia Southwestern State University is approved for the educational training of veterans and certain eligible spouses and dependents of veterans. The institution serves only as a source of certification and information to the Veterans Administration as all financial transactions and eligibility determinations are handled directly between the student and the VA. Veterans and other eligible persons interested in obtaining educational benefits must meet all applicable requirements for admission as outlined in this bulletin. After being officially admitted to the University, the veteran or eligible person should contact the Veteran Certifying Official in the Registrar's Office for information concerning application procedures and educational benefits. Additional information about eligibility may be obtained by calling the Department of Veteran Affairs at 1-800- 827-1000.